News TEDx

3 great reasons to watch the TEDxChange livestream tomorrow

TEDxChange, happening on April 5, is being livestreamed all over the world on TED.com and TEDxChange.org (which links to Facebook). April 5 is a Thursday, which means that you’re probably at work or school with a bunch of meetings to attend. Lucky for you, the program is only 90 minutes, and it’s worth it — so reschedule your calls and take a long lunch break. The livestream airs at 5:30pm CEST (Berlin time), which translates to 12:30am Tokyo time, 9pm Mumbai time, 3:30pm in Dakar, 12:30pm in Brasilia, 11:30am Eastern and 8:30am Pacific time.

Here are three reasons (among many!) you should watch online or find a viewing party near you:

Get a grip on our biggest challenges. We hear a lot about how technology has made the world a very small place. At the same time, the solutions to common problems like climate change and global poverty seem overwhelmingly complex. “The Big Picture” is the theme for this year’s event, and the program will help all attendees understand the innovative solutions that can, for example, address issues of sustainability and social entrepreneurship at the same time. It’s a great way to get a handle on these almost incomprehensible problems.

TEDxChange is everywhere. With nearly 200 events in 66 countries, there’s a pretty good chance there is a viewing event near you. Find an event near you.

Melinda Gates, Jeff Chapin, Sven Giegold, Theo Sowa and Baaba Maal. Ok, they technically make it seven reasons — but they’re all speaking. Sven Giegold is a European parliamentarian and green industry advocate; Jeff Chapin is a product designer for IDEO; and Theo Sowa is interim CEO of the African Women’s Development Fund. Never seen Senegalese singer Baaba Maal perform? You should — and here’s your chance.

Photo courtesy of Flickr user TEDxDupontCircle