A new phase opens tomorrow for the Charter for Compassion

You have 8 hours left to contribute to the Preamble of the Charter for Compassion. Tonight at midnight EST, writing begins on the next phase: the Affirmations.

In the Affirmations section of the Charter, you can contribute by writing short descriptions of the eight core elements of compassion:

Compassion as empathy, not pity.
Compassion as concrete action.
Compassion as a lens for scripture.
Compassion’s role as a spiritual tool.
Compassion as fundamental to all faiths.
Compassion as an urgent global need.
Compassion as concern for everybody.
Compassion and the Golden Rule.

The response so far to the Charter has been moving and powerful. Thanks to all who have contributed, and we’ll see you tomorrow in the next phase.